Nov 09

EAAE-IAU Course on Astronomy Education starts today

The European Association for Astronomy Education is the first all-European network for teachers interested in Astronomy. The EAAE-Working Group Summer School (EAAE-WGSS) has organized each year a Summer School since 1997. This institution is organizing this year a specific course for teachers in order to offer them access to new educational materials and methods and the chance to exchange experiences. This course is a Comenius course (Comenius course ES-2009-217-001) open to all secondary school teachers who work in European countries.
This year's course will take place on November 26th - December 1st and will be held in the CSIC Headquarters in Madrid. At this event several different kinds of activities will be presented by astronomers and university professors and secondary school teachers members of EAAE-WGSS. The course is for school teachers interested in astronomy even if they only have limited knowledge in this field. The course is not aimed at experts. The preliminary theme of this course is "Adventure in teaching Astronomy". The aim of the organizers is to promote very active participation and the exchange of ideas.

General Lectures (GL) will be presented by IAU astronomers.

General Working groups(GWG) will focus on general discussions related to teaching astronomy in Europe.

Workshops (WS) will be held in small groups (20 participants). The objective of WS is to offer teachers very practical and didactic presentations.

Observation sessions (OS) can be held during the course depending on the weather. The goal is to introduce the participants to astronomical observations. The course will offer participants a special observation in Cosmocaixa Madrid Science Museum.

Poster session (PS) will be organised, to which participants are invited to contribute by presenting posters of particular astronomical activities. The posters will be presented during the course in English.

Evaluation Session (ES) of different activities will take place at the end of the course. There will be a chance to make comments on the course contents in a general discussion.

The list of participants of the EAAE-IAU Course on Astronomy Education is:

1. Asare, Lasma
Kegums Commercial Secondary School, Kegums (Latvia)
E-mail: lasogre@yahoo.com

2. Bartolo, Ann-Marie
St. Nicholas College Girls Secondary School, Rabat (Malta)
E-mail: annmbart@maltanet.net

3. Ben Maaouia, Naoufel
Tunis Sciences City (Tunisia)
E-mail: naoufel.benmaaouia@cst.rnu.tn

4. Bettencourt, Nuno
EBI Padre Vítor Melícias, Torres Vedras (Portugal)
E-mail: nmbettencourt@gmail.com

5. Carreras, Carmen
Dpto. Física de los Materiales, UNED, Madrid (Spain)
E-mail: ccarreras@ccia.uned.es

6. Costa, Alexandre
Escola Secundária de Loulé (Portugal)
E-mail: alexandrejcosta@gmail.com

7. Dluzewska, Barbara
Secondary School, Warsaw (Poland)
E-mail: barbara.dluzewska@aster.pl

8. Dominique, Eva
IES “Virgen de la Paz”, Alcobendas, Madrid (Spain)
E-mail: eva.dominique@gmail.com

9. Eyraud, Charles-Henri
Institut National de Recherche Pédagogique, Lyon (France)
E-mail: charles-henri.eyraud@inrp.fr

10. Fierro, Julieta
Instituto de Astronomía de la UNAM (México)
E-mail: fierroju@servidor.unam.mx

11. Guglielmino, Michela
LCSF, Facolta` di Scienze FF, MM, NN, Trento (Italy)
E-mail: guglielmino@science.unitn.it

12. Hannula, Irma
Aurinkolahti Comprehensive School, Helsinki (Finland)
E-mail: ihannula@mappi.helsinki.fi

13. Hilton, Janet
The Kingsley School, Leamington Spa (United Kingdom)
E-mail: hilton_janet56@btinternet.com

14. Larsson, Gunvor
Enskilda Gymnasiet, Stockholm (Sweden)
E-mail: gula@enskildagymnasiet.se

15. Madsen, Claus
European Organisation for Astronomical Research in the Southern Hemisphere, ESO (Germany)
E-mail: cmadsen@eso.org

16. Miley, George
Leiden Observatory (Netherlands) and Vice-President IAU
E-mail: miley@strw.leidenuniv.nl

17. Montoya, Mª del Mar
Dpto. Física de los Materiales, UNED, Madrid (Spain)
E-mail: mmontoya@ccia.uned.es

18. Moreno, Ricardo
Secondary School, Pozuelo, Madrid (Spain)
E-mail: rmluquero@gmail.com

19. Palici di Suni, Cristina
SIS Specialization Interuniversity School, Torino (Italy)
E-mail: palici@quadricom.org

20. Pasachoff, Jay M.
Williams College, Williamstown, Massachusetts (USA)
E-mail: Jay.M.Pasachoff@williams.edu

21. Peña, Ángeles
IES “Vallecas-Magerit”, Madrid (Spain)
E-mail: angeles.pena@educa.madrid.org

22. Peña, Margarita
IES “Antonio de Nebrija”, Móstoles, Madrid (Spain)
E-mail: marga.ppablo@gmail.com

23. Percy, John R.
Toronto University (Canada)
E-mail: john.percy@utoronto.ca

24. Pérez-Acosta, Nieves
IES “Virgen de las Nieves”, La Palma (Spain)
E-mail: nperaco@terra.es

25. Petö, Mária
Reformed High School Saint George, Sf. Gheorghe (Romania)
E-mail: rkollegium@yahoo.com

26. Pickwick, Alan
Manchester Grammar School, Manchester (United Kingdom)
E-mail: Alan_C_Pickwick@btinternet.com

27. Radeva, Veselka
Astronomical Observatory and Planetarium, Varna (Bulgaria)

28. Ribeiro, Carla Isabel
Escola Secundário Joaquim de Araújo, Penafiel (Portugal)
E-mail: ribeirocarlaisabel@gmail.com

29. Ros, Rosa M.
Technical University of Catalonia, Barcelona (Spain)
E-mail: ros@ma4.upc.edu

30. Sánchez-Fernández, Juan Pedro
Dpto. Física de los Materiales, UNED, Madrid (Spain)
E-mail: jpsanchez@ccia.uned.es

31. Sert, Josée
Collège des Chalets, Toulouse (France)
E-mail: jsert@ac-toulouse.fr

32. Stavinschi, Magda
Astronomical Institute of the Romanian Academy (Romania)
E-mail: magda_stavinschi@yahoo.fr

33. Szatmari, Aurora-Dorina
Secondary School “Dimitrie Cantemir”, Oradea (Romania)
E-mail: dorina_szatmari@yahoo.com

34. Viñuales, Ederlinda
Zaragoza (Spain)
E-mail: ederlinda.vinuales@gmail.com

35. Yuste, Manuel
Dpto. Física de los Materiales, UNED, Madrid (Spain)
E-mail: myuste@ccia.uned.es

Twitter del.icio.us Digg Facebook linked-in Yahoo Buzz StumbleUpon